Taking Pinaywriter’s Blogging Tips at Heart

Exactly one week ago, September 16, Pinaywriter has been generous enough to write this for me http://pinaywriteroraldiarrhea2.blogspot.com/2011/09/rikki.html and gave me tips as to how to go about this whole blogging thing.

I appreciate it oh so dearly that I am really taking her tips at heart as well as the comments I received from the others that’s why one week after, here’s a checkpoint of where my blogging stint is to date taking in full consideration Pinaywriter’s 101’s:

1. Keep your blog clean. Make sure there aren’t any autoplaying or flashing flash advertisement. 

My blog’s clean. In fact it is too clean, haha. Not good, I guess. And, I really have no idea how advertisement works so I’m pretty sure this will remain clean for the next weeks or more.

2. If you are going to talk about yourself, make sure it’s interesting.

Hmmm. This one’s tough. I don’t know when I am talking about myself already and if it is interesting so I tried to talk about other things – movie, food, place and current events. And here are the feedbacks I got so far:

Blog about a Place: I’ll work hard on this.

the article lacks depth and content and need to be revised. why is the place so special that tourists or visitors will visit it. certainly its not the room, i dont find it inviting (or maybe because its beauty was not captured by the lens); how about the food served (you were silent on this), the quality of service, the beauty of the sourroundings, etc. – from a Publisher of a local lifestyle magazine

This is a very good read. ^.^ Thought I was wondering how those stuff cost. ^.^ I should go check out the link. This is a nice easy travel blog entry. Keep it up!

It would be nice to know what other stuff the place offers and how you went to that place. *Some people like me really suck at directions* – from Pinaywriter herself

Blog about a Movie: Need to improve this one.

nice post rikki.. hehe i haven’t watched any of those movies yet, but at least i have a little overview now .. keep it up! ♥ – from a friend and former colleague

Blog about Food and Current Events: Nada. No feedbacks yet.

Blogs about Myself: Just read for yourself, naks.

Nice blog, Rikkiaw! Love your entries. You’re a good writer, keep on writing! – from a marketing professional friend who’s also into blogging

You can do it Karen! you are a good writer. I still remember the editorial you write when our class was downsized in high school. :) good luck! – from a longtime friend

Hi, Rikki! I liked what you wrote. I hope you continue your passion– writing! Good job – from an alumnus

Hi Rikki! Just read your blog—you’re natural honey! I enjoyed reading most of your self-expression blurbs. Fwes my fan at follower ka nang jurassic sistah ( well not dat jurasik, i must admit :)…am trying to maintain the asim kya d ko carry na matawag na jurasik ever). Keep it coming sis–hugs, junjun. 

Hmmm… which makes me think … maybe, I’m interesting, after all! Choz.

3. Have a theme.

A former UP professor, Ms. Ai, told me this: I love the theme of your blog. so neat and chic. excited to see more posts! One point for Rikki Tick Talk, yes🙂

4. Talk about trending topics and add your own twist to it.

I think I have a little problem when it comes to this. I remember during the Miss Universe and the Cheerdance competition, I was taking down notes the whole time for a post I might think of later on, but when everybody started talking about it already, my interest on that topic literally died down and I ended up not talking about those.

5. Be careful of trolls. Make sure you let people comment but don’t let them get away with thrasing your comment box either.

So far so good on this one.

6. Be a “first to blog about something” kind of blogger.

I’m way behind on this yet given my ‘limitations’ as of the moment. You know, not having work to finance these things for me to get there and be there first, haha. But in time.

7. Label rants as such and try to proofread the rest of your pieces.

Proofread, check. Rants, I think I’m not good at it, hehe, I’m more into spreading the love. Choz, but I’m labeling it as well as such.

8. Be a quality read.

I’ve been vocal about it from the start, I’m just a beginner, but I’m really taking time to learn so that I’ll achieve this one of these days. I really want to be a quality read and not waste other people’s time. It’s too precious for me to take it away from them.

9. Choose advertisers and servers wisely. 

Servers what? Nosebleed. Haha. Looks like I really need to call a friend on these html and domain thing. Recommendations, anyone?

10. Blog with photos.

This one, check, too. The shots need improvement but that can be done.

11. Share buttons +1 and Like buttons help

Sharing this in Facebook, done. Using the Networked App in FB, hopeless. It’s no working and I don’t know why.

12. Nuffnang or Google adsense it.

Sadly, they don’t support WordPress.com site but I already created a Nuffnang account, in case.

13. Link your fanpage or a public FB account. or your Google+ account.

I don’t have a FB fanpage and Google+ account but I’m sharing my links on the FB groups that I am a member of.

Seven out of thirteen! Not bad, halfway there. Thanks again, Pinaywriter. Keep ’em comments and feedbacks coming, everyone, and help me spread my love. Thanksies. Love, Rikki.

One thought on “Taking Pinaywriter’s Blogging Tips at Heart

  1. You have to ask Miss Ai more about this, she is like 100 paligo ahead of me on these. I don’t have a domain and when my friends started talking about it. My nose stopped bleeding kasi pati utak ko naiga. Ahahha.

    On the movie reviews: try movies that are not commonly shown in our country. for example : http://www.plurk.com/p/e2pchs

    Oh, having twitter, plurk and other social networks would help. ^.^ I am like all over the place actually. I have smashword, joined blogging farms etc. I don’t remember half of the passwords that I made for them so I try to keep them somewhere so I don’t forget them. ^.^ having a tumblr would be cute too. Try everything, find what you want to use.

    For video or movie reviews posters are a must, then you can actually post a video trailer from youtube or what not. It makes more visual people go back to your site. It’s clean and chic but doesn’t have to be empty. ^.^

What do you think of this? Love, Rikki.

