Sunday Breadcrumbs.10.23.11

There are three ways to love our neighbor, according to the priest who presided yesterday’s mass:

1. Respect every one

2. Show compassion and be humble

3. Forgive

These are exactly what I needed yesterday when I was pushed beyond my limits. Being in a field known to be a man’s world, it’s so hard not to be the object of some people’s ‘endearment’ and ‘too much attention’ to the point of being bullied and offended by them consciously or unconsciously.

So I turned to my iPod for help and just ‘plugged my ears’ with my happy songs and let them talk among themselves all day long. I don’t want to be rude and mean and listening to them might bring that out from me so I let them be. As what one of my brods is fond of saying, ‘we are all entitled to our wrong opinions’ and so I am entitled to not listen to their opinions😮

Before the night ends, I got a text message from one of ‘the boys’ apologizing for what he had done that might have offended me. And forgiveness in that case is not necessary because I was not harmed in any way. I did not allow them to do that to me in the first place.  Simply put, apology is not accepted because apology is not needed. But I admire him for what he did.

Going back to the homily, of all the three ways mentioned in loving our neighbors, the third one seems to be the hardest – forgive. But, remembering the homily last Sept. 11 about forgiveness, denying to forgive is denying love and denying love is denying God.

The question now is how to forgive if we are still hurting? There are two ways for us to heal:

1. Human intervention – by cleansing our heart and mind; and

2. God’s intervention – by lifting and surrendering everything to God and trust that He will take care of it.

But, like what happened in my case, it should ALWAYS start from us. Respect other people. Show compassion and be humble. Because once we do, there would be no reason to forgive.

Happy Monday! Love, Rikki.

What do you think of this? Love, Rikki.

