A Call to Love and to Have a Heart

Since I was given a chance to begin again and to begin right this time, I promised myself these:

  • I’ll see goodness in everything
  • I’ll help someone in ways that I can
  • I’ll spend quality time with my loved ones
  • I’ll make meaningful relationships with everyone and
  • I’ll spread love at all times

When I made these my mission, things started to fall into their rightful places. Every interaction and every minute feels like a total bliss and the blessings came pouring nonstop. I was humbled.

shadow on my side of the bus' window ... lovely😮

I used to hate commuting but during those times when I really have none, that’s when I found joy and happiness in the simplest of things. Now I even enjoy riding jeepneys and buses. And I even appreciate now the four-hour commute to and from the office when needed.

I love the music they play on the bus. Mostly oldies. I even stopped listening to my iPod and just reserved that for my lullaby at night because even the sound around me interests and inspires me now.

Weird, but yes, the noise of life is lovely.

I also love whenever they play a movie on board. Movies I didn’t get to watch on cinemas but I get to watch just riding a bus. But when they are too tired to turn the TV on board on, I just roam my eyes around.

And there are lots of good stuff only when we open our eyes and look for those.

One time, Lance, a colleague of mine, even asked me why I won’t take a nap the whole time and I’ll just tell him that there are lots of wonderful things to see out there and I just can’t afford to close my eyes and miss those.

Life is love. And true, indeed. There was never a time when I didn’t see something beautiful that made me smile.

When we’re still commuting, Lance and I saw a pink superman car along Edsa and we had a good time guessing whether or not the driver is a girl or a guy or a gay only to find a macho guy driving it seriously.

Last night, when he’s driving me home, there was this jeepney with the lights producing a face that made it look like Tomas (the train cartoon character) at night and I’m so disappointed because Lance drives a little faster and I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of it.

And then I realized, I also love the different people I see and get to interact with every day. Lance, for example. And the girl I’ve been seeing everyday going to work. I don’t know how we always happen to ride the same jeepney to think that the chances of choosing which one to ride and the time is so random.

And then this Lola I happened to sit beside one early morning going to work.

I always sit on the front row, just behind the driver, because I want to have a full view of the road and the surrounding. That spot is almost always not fully occupied every time I ride a bus. One morning, there is already a very old lady sleeping on the aisle seat and there is a man on the window seat so I had no choice but to sit in between. The lola looks so tired so I’m really tempted to offer my right shoulder so she can sleep better.

When she’s already on her destination, the conductor won’t let her leave the bus. The lola has no money and she said her son will wait for her on that area and will pay for her fare, but there is no son in sight.

Everyone’s starting to get mad and I remember the time when I have no money and there’s these people, complete strangers whom I now call my angels, who offered help without my asking for it. I know how it feels and I know exactly how that lola feels at that moment. So I paid for her fare and I talked to the driver and conductor to let her leave already and she’s almost on the verge of crying thanking me.

But I know it’s not me that should be thanked for. God put me in that situation as His instrument of love.

You see, when I tried to listen from my heart and to really have a heart, I realized that the moment I wake up, every move that I make has a purpose and an effect to somebody else. So, why are we so afraid to show some love even to people we do not know and just have a heart for everything and everyone when we, on our darkest days and time, are also craving for the same things?

See and give love.

Living and loving is crazy and noisy and is not easy but once we live with a heart, we’ll find magic and bliss in everything. After all, God is love, so if we have questions or differences on the idea about God – just love and have a heart.

It’s universal. One can never go wrong in loving.

What do you think of this? Love, Rikki.

