Crash Course in Sales: The Law of Influence

The true measure of leadership is influence – John C. Maxwell, The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership

I was organizing my photos in my phone when I chance upon this newspaper clipping from our GM, Boss NMT. And then I remembered how he influenced me in a good lot of ways.

20130609-185804.jpg

1. It’s so easy for him to throw a compliment.

I was new in Frabelle then when one afternoon, when I was remitting my collection, he suddenly uttered, ‘magaling ka palang magsulat. I’ve read your blog. It’s been an unexpected motivating pressure that I welcomed ever since that I replicate when I was also given a chance to have people under me. I made sure to always recognize and compliment small or big successes of our team.

2. He’s thoughtful in his gifts.

My love for reading came back when during our very first Rara in Sales on our first month of selling, he gave out ‘Straight from the Heart’ prayer books for the dealers but since I was the only girl in that group that time, I was given my own copy as well. And then I’ve been lucky enough to be given more books by him during important sales celebrations: The Greatest Salesman in the World 2 and How to Win Friends and Influence People. Then I made sure I have lots of books (opened and unopened) in my car every time so that when any situation calls for it, I have a ready gift for my dearies, on the spot. One can never go wrong with good books.

3. He has unwavering commitment to having high standards when it comes to quality and execution that made me love my chosen profession even more.

He knows when to challenge the team and he knows when to say the right words when the team needed it the most. He takes time to really share what he has read that he thinks will help the team. So I, in turn, make time as well to download those to my team and to really put high value to the standards he had set for the Company.

Our interaction may be short but his influence lingers – a great leader, indeed, one of my inspirations. I was also able to save some of his texts:

‘Found this quote today (author unknown): ‘A diamond is simply a lump of coal that did well under pressure’ Go T**D******* team! Hoo-haah’

‘Nice. That’s what admirable about your work attitude. Keep it up Rikki.🙂’

‘I’m glad you found the book meaningful. I wish it will influence you positively as much as it has helped me develop personally and professionally. Keep up the good work. Keep the faith and fortitude. Happy New Year!🙂’

THANK YOU, Boss Noel!

‘No matter what anybody else may tell you, remember that leadership is influence – nothing more, nothing less’ – John C. Maxwell

20130616-020850.jpg

One thought on “Crash Course in Sales: The Law of Influence

  1. Pingback: The Greatest Salesman in the World | WWW.MYINFOBLOGG.NET

What do you think of this? Love, Rikki.

