Crash Course in Sales: Starting Right to Realizing the Law of the Big Mo (Momentum)

July 1, 2013. It’s official today: TriDiamonds. After one year, eight months, and twelve days, here we are, some of the remaining pioneers of Frabelle Corporation pioneering another gem, the TriDiamonds Corporation.

And here I am, back to my Monday checkpoint with myself: my purpose and my cause in this world.

I randomly grabbed a book, randomly opened a page and here’s what I got: ‘page 203, Small Beginnings’ of the Law of the Big Mo chapter of John C. Maxwell’s The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership

Leaders always find a way to make things happen

‘…they were all sliding backward fast, and they needed something to move them forward. (He) was disappointed, but he refused to give up…he knew that if he could help his students experience a few wins, build their confidence, and give them hope, he could move them forward…and all along he modeled hard work, dedication to excellence, and ganas-desire’

I remembered when we were starting in Frabelle. We literally started from scratch introducing the company and the brand to whoever we come across with and then with baby steps we opened one Modern Trade chain and one GenTrade stall after another until finally, we earned some credibility, earned a little niche in this Fast Moving Consumers Goods industry.

And now, a turnabout.

The Law of the Big Mo (Momentum) is right: ‘getting started is a struggle, but once you’re moving forward, you can really start to do some amazing things’.

Momentum begins within the individual leader. It starts with vision, passion and enthusiasm. It starts with energy…’You cannot kindle a fire in any other heart until it is burning within your own’

What was my burning desire? Sales. Putting systems in place. Sharing this gift. Chasing dreams. Follow-throughs. Making a difference.

If only I was given a chance to talk this morning, I would talk about this. ‘The steps forward weren’t huge, but it was building a momentum’.

Same like with each of the *David in us. (*symbolism of each Frabelle Foods salesperson). Whenever I recall our first selling day, I see that ganas in all of us. I still remember that ‘gigil’ and I still feel those hearts. Those salesmen whose hearts acquired great momentum that do not want to do anything to get in its way.

I was not able to give a little talk this morning, but every time, in the near future, that I will … I will always bring us one step back to where we started, to that 3am ceremony, build the momentum in the hearts of my colleagues then we will all move two steps forward while we shout this out loud: Frabelle Foods, start right, finish strong. Hoo-Haa!

20130701-215644.jpg

What do you think of this? Love, Rikki.

